WFFC: 2012 Scholarship Awards Recipients

Posted on January 20, 2012 @ 10:13 am

Women in Flavor & Fragrance Commerce recently announced the 2012 WFFC scholarship award recipients. Lauren Ritzmann is the 2012 recipient of the Rita Flynn Memorial Fragrance Scholarship Award. Ritzmann is a senior at Ashford University in pursuit of her Bachelor’s degree in Sociology with a minor in Business Administration. Her ability to juggle many priorities with a fine balance embodies the spirit of the WFFC. In addition to working full-time at Kerry Ingredients & Flavors, she attends college and is raising a young family.

Diane Schmitt is the 2012 recipient of the WFFC Flavor Scholarship Award. A freshman at Cornell University, Schmitt is studying for a Master’s degree in Food Science. In addition to her academic pursuit, she actively participates in community services. She co-leads Developing Solutions for Developing Countries, a product development team with the IFT and has visited Tanzania to raise money and work with women who suffer obstetric fistula. Furthermore, Schmitt is involved with a number of other student associations, including a food science club.