CEW Announces Indie Beauty Award Finalists

Posted on April 12, 2010 @ 08:28 am

Cosmetic Executive Women (CEW), a nonprofit professional organization with over 3,500 executives in the beauty, cosmetics, fragrance, and related industries, has announced the five finalists for the 2010 Indie Beauty Award, which recognizes the creativity, originality and entrepreneurial spirit of small, independent beauty companies. The winner will be revealed at the 16th annual CEW Beauty Awards on May 21, 2010, at the Waldorf-Astoria New York.

This year’s Indie Beauty Award Finalists are: Cover FX, Living Proof, Moroccanoil, Oribe Hair Care and Oscar Blandi Haircare. The winner will be determined in a special vote by the CEW Board of Governors. Linda Wells, editor in chief of Allure magazine, will announce this year’s winner at the CEW Beauty Awards luncheon.

“This Indie Beauty Award helps to put a spotlight on companies that otherwise may not have been given the opportunity to shine,” says CEW President Carlotta Jacobson. “It also provides the companies with the momentum to continue creating innovative products.”

This year, the number of new, privately owned companies that were competing for the Indie Beauty Awards rose to 38, making it the most crowded field to date. Past Indie winners include NIA 24 and MD Skincare by Dr. Dennis Gross.